Organic Food

Organic foods are produced by organic agriculture, a production mode based on principles of protecting the environment, maintaining biodiversity and respecting the natural life cycles.

Organic agriculture encourages recycling, help to improve fertility and quality of soils and favour the health and well-being of animals, in a context that increases the local economy and takes into account sociocultural aspects.

To do so, the organic food production and processing rely in several techniques that particularly exclude the use of pesticides and synthesis chemical fertilizers, genetically modified organisms (GMO) antibiotics and irradiation.

The price of organic food is often higher than the non organic food for a very good reason. Costs related to preventing pollution, protection and sustainability of these resources are already included in the price. For example, herbicides are replaced with manual-weed control and mechanical work; compost, green fertilizers and fallows are replacing the synthesis chemical fertilizers. The production costs of organic grains justify the higher price of the eggs.

Health, protecting the environment and even taste are many reasons which justify buying and consuming organic products. In fact, organic food production is based on principles that aim to prevent all form of air water and soil pollution while offering healthy and nutritious high quality food.

Source : ministère de l'Agriculture, des Pêcheries et de l'Alimentation du Québec (MAPAQ)

Le biologique

Les aliments biologiques sont issus de l'agriculture biologique, un mode de production fondé sur des principes qui ont pour objet de protéger l'environnement ; maintenir la biodiversité et respecter les cycles biologiques naturels.

L'agriculture biologique favorise le recyclage, l'amélioration de la fertilité et de la qualité des sols, privilégie la santé et le bien-être des animaux, dans un contexte qui valorise l'économie locale et tient compte d'aspects socioculturels.

Pour ce faire, la production et la transformation d'aliments biologiques s'appuient sur un ensemble de techniques qui excluent, notamment, le recours aux pesticides et aux engrais chimiques de synthèse,
aux organismes génétiquement modifiés (OGM), aux antibiotiques et à l'irradiation.

Le prix des aliments biologiques est souvent plus élevé que celui des non biologiques, et pour cause.
Les coûts associés à la prévention de la pollution, à la protection et à la durabilité des ressources y sont déjà inclus. Par exemple : les herbicides sont remplacés par le désherbage manuel et le travail mécanique; le compost, les engrais verts et les jachères se substituent aux engrais chimiques de synthèse. Les coûts de production des grains biologiques justifient entre autre le coût plus élevé des œufs.

Plusieurs raisons motivent l'achat et la consommation de produits biologiques, les plus fréquentes étant la santé, la protection de l'environnement et même le goût. En effet, la production d'aliments biologiques est fondée sur des principes qui visent à éviter toute forme de pollution de l'air, de l'eau et du sol, tout en offrant des aliments sains et de haute qualité nutritive.

Source : ministère de l'Agriculture, des Pêcheries et de l'Alimentation du Québec (MAPAQ)